EU extended sanctions against Russia

The EU has officially announced the extension of sanctions against Russian officials and companies operating since 2014. Sanctions include a ban on entry and freezing of assets.

The Council of the European Union extended for 6 months, until March 15, 2017, the duration of sanctions against Russian officials and organizations introduced in 2014 due to the situation in Ukraine. The relevant decision will be published in the official journal of the EU on September 16. An assessment of the situation does not provide a basis for changing the sanctions regime or the list of persons and organizations that are subject to restrictive measures.

The EU first imposed sanctions against Russia in March 2014. Now restrictions imposing a ban on trips to the territory of the European Union and freezing of assets on the territory of the bloc apply to 146 people and 37 organizations. The sanctions list includes Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin, Advisor to the President Sergey Glazyev, State Duma Speaker Sergei Naryshkin, Federation Council Speaker Valentina Matvienko, Security Council Secretary Nikolai Patrushev, Acting Head of Chechnya Ramzan Kadyrov, as well as Crimean companies Chernomorneftegaz, Feodosia Oil Depot, “Kerch Ferry”, the sanatorium “Lower Oreanda”, the factory of sparkling wines “New World”.

This post is also available in: English Русский (Russian)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button